What I’m Into May

The month of May just seemed to fly by. It was a month of new brave things, of big scary and of summer thunderstorms. May marked a year since I left Virginia, which was a sad anniversary. I’ve been without my beloved mountains for a year. But I had plenty of activity to distract me. I celebrated, from far away, seeing friends graduate. I sat with my dog Gracie as she recovered (more on that later in this post). And I spent time with family.

Reading:
I’m sad to say that my reading has slipped this month. *hangs head* I’ve been reading other things (like blogs and a textbook), so my pleasure reading has slipped.

-The Sacred Meal by Nora Gallagher. I originally read this book when it was published back in 2009. While I did like it overall, I wasn’t expecting the memoir tone, so I wasn’t sure what to make of it. Rereading it, I loved it. It felt more applicable to the older me. I could connect with her stories and appreciate how she was communicating. I give it 4/5.

-Carry On, Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton. I’m about halfway through this book, which I’ve been reading all month. I wasn’t expecting it to be little mini-essays when I started and I find it is a book I need to soak up slowly. It happens (and this is why I have so many books on my to-read list on goodreads). Nonetheless, I am loving it.

I already have some really good books on my to-read stack for June (including a couple ARCs that I will be reviewing in the future!). Towards the end of June, the book I’ve been anticipating for a year is coming out, The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet.

TV:
Season finales were on point. I loved the Once Upon A Time finale (that ending!), Revenge and The Middle finale. I’ve started to watch House on netflix and I’m really enjoying it.

Music:
-Coldplay. Always and forever.
-Colony House has a new single out. It’s really catchy and I could not stop replaying.

Stuff I just can’t get enough of this month:
-I’ve been a huge fan of Annie’s words for…a long time now. This post hit me on a heart level. I love how she connects with humor and reality.
-I got a pair of Toms this month and I’m in love. If I had known I’d love these shoes so much, I would have gotten them long ago. The price had always kept me away but my goodness, they are comfy. I got my pair from Whole Foods, the design has paint splatters in the fabric and it’s so cute!  that particular pair isn’t on the website but here are two pairs I love here and here (the second is just as colorful).
-I got a tank like this and I wore it all summer long. It’s beyond comfortable and it supports one of my favorite organizations, To Write Love on Her Arms.
-Lexie wrote a post on vulnerability and I wondered how she knew so much about my life. Her words were so true and needed. I love her blog and it’s a must read.
-My favorite new series this month is The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy, a modern take on Peter Pan.
-There was a surprise Lizzie Bennet bonus video. I may have been stunned to silence when I got the twitter notification. I then proceeded to watch it and text everyone of my friends and then watch it again. Seeing Ashley on screen as Lizzie makes me so happy. I can’t get enough. I’m anxious for video two with Darcy.
-This post from Sarah about made me cry. It’s part of a series, which I haven’t finished watching but I’ll bet is incredible.
-And finally a print from the ever-creative, awesome Messy Canvas which reminds me of one of my favorite quotes, “You’re only a minor character if you choose to be.”

Instagram:

My pup had a rough month. We found a tumor and so she had surgery to have it removed. There was more than one and it’s likely cancerous. She’s a tough girl at 16 years and if she remains tumorless, she’ll likely be around til 20. But for most of this month, she was dealing with her stitches and had to wear the cone of shame. She’s resilient, now happily cone-less and back to her self.

Gracie

June is setting out to be a crazy-wild month of summer. I’m excited, nervous, anxious and ready. It’s going to be filled with adventures and memories and let’s face it, probably more anxiety than I’d prefer. But I’m ready, kind of. And I know it will be good.

Thank you, Leigh for hosting this link up. Check out her blog and her twitter, she’s quite awesome. If you’re here from the link-up, HI! Thanks for coming. If not, stop by Leigh’s site and check out the other awesome writers.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Into May

    • So many possibilities, indeed! It was a good way to end for the season (with one exception, gosh, they were so happy and now, 😦 ) Thanks! She’s doing a lot better now. Stitches are out and she’s back to her normal self.

Leave a Reply

