What I’m Into – March

I love March. It’s the beginning of Spring when Winter is supposed to shake off. What I forget about March is what with the pretty blooms comes pollen. There has been a distinct lack of breath this month. Despite that, this month was filled with good and interesting things. It’s been a while since I’ve linked up. I’ve written a lot of monthly drafts that never quite got posted. This month, I’m changing that and linking with Leigh and y’all.

What I’m Reading:
-The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer (4/5). I knew nothing about Amanda prior to this book beyond a few basics– never listened to her music or read more than a blogpost or two. But I really enjoyed this book and her perspective. Amanda is a pioneer of modern crowdfunding for her music. A great companion to this book is Daring Greatly by Brene Brown.
-All of the Women of the Bible by Edith Deen (1/5). I was really excited about the premise of this book, going into detail about the bible’s women. OH BOY. This was bad, so bad. She put in a lot of unnecessary commentary, like condemning all women for the sin of discontentment during Eve’s chapter or blaming Dinah for her own rape. Yeah.
-Miss Peregrin’s Home for Particular Children by Ransom Riggs (4/5). This was a great young adult novel. The premise was different and interesting. I found the sequel Hollow City (also 4/5) wasn’t quite as solid as the debut. But I’m looking forward to reading the ending, coming out this year.
-The Red Tent by Anita Diamant (4/5). I’m always a fan of biblical fiction, so I really enjoyed this story. The last fourth was a little slow for me. But I loved the perspective this author wrote about.
-Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (5/5). I’ve been wanting to read this book for months. One of my dear friend said such good things about it. And finally, I found it hidden in my library’s e-book section. I accidentally breezed through it in a day (oops). It is now one of my favorite books ever. The spirit of everything I love about my favorite rom-coms wrapped up in one story. ❤ It’s also set in the late 90’s, so the throwbacks were really fun to read.
-Searching for Sunday by Rachel Held Evans (5/5). I’m going to be writing about this book on the blog around the release date (April 14) but suffice to say: it’s excellent.

I’ve read fifteen (!!!!) books for this month, bringing my total of books read to thirty-three. I don’t know how I managed to read that much this month, honestly. For more, you can check out my goodreads account.

What I’m Watching:
-Once Upon a Time. I feel like this season is turning into Once Upon a Plothole. I’m finding it hard to suspend my disbelief. Would some of these characters be so naive? I’m hoping the storyline improves. Despite that, I love Cruella.
-The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. I love this series so much. I watched it on a whim and fell in love with Kimmy and Titus immediately. Can we talk about the theme song? Because it’s AMAZING.
-30 Rock. I picked up this show as my late night comedy. I’ve been really enjoying it.
-Downton Abbey. I binged the end of this show because it was set to expire off the PBS app. I know I’ll like it more in the future (that ending was perfect) but it felt like too much at once. It’s bittersweet about the final season (I’ve been loving the cast read through pictures on fb) but I know they’ll end it right. (Come on Fellows, give Edith her happy ending please!)

What I’m Listening to:
-New Mumford! I love the new song. The sound is great (even if I miss the banjos). I can’t wait for more.
-Joy Williams just released her new song called Woman (Oh Mama). Those lyrics tho. ❤

What I’m Liking on Youtube:
-Mary Kate Wiles (of Lizzie Bennet Diaries fame) just released a new short film called Spore. It’s a spooky sci-fi piece and demands to be watched more than once.
-Mary Kate also hosts a project called Craftversations on her channel where friends come and talk while making a craft. She describes it as a visual podcast. This month she had her LBD sister Ashley Clements on the show. I loved the way they talked about vulnerability and self care. They nailed it. So here is the episode where they talk about it.
The Ballad of Serenity sung by Jesse L Martin, Rick Cosnett and Carlos Valdes (aka actors from The Flash on CW). I love their take on one of my favorite TV theme songs.
-Wedding Horror Film. I don’t have the link to this because I’ve only seen it as a facebook video. It’s a film by Buzzfeed about how almost everyone seems to be getting married. In true horror film style. It is the best thing.

What Else I Loved This Month:
-Mint. I’ve discovered I’m all about the color mint green this year. I had previously picked up a mint scarf on clearance. But my trying-on selection and eventual purchase at Old Navy sealed it for me.
-Paint. I started a painting project this month. I’m still in the middle of it but I’m enjoying the process and the results so far.
-Hot Fudge Sundae’s for dinner. This little rarity is why I like being an adult.
This Unbreakable Kimmy Schimdt print, which a friend put on my wall.
-Insightful conversations with friends. I’m so glad my people are only a text message away.
-My friends have officially announced this month that they are expecting and he’s a boy. I’m over the moon thrilled.

While I didn’t take this picture in March, I uploaded it this month. It just feels right to see the blooms this month. My part of the country doesn’t have many flowering trees and I find myself missing that a lot.

Spring

 Here’s to a beautiful upcoming April. See you all next month!

One thought on “What I’m Into – March

  1. 1) The Miss Peregrine books are on my to-read list! My husband knocked out both of them in a few days.
    2) Those new Mumford & Joy Williams songs though. so good.
    3) Yay mint!
    4) This was fun to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

