What I’m Into – October

October has always been one of my favorite months. The leaves are changing, it starts getting breezy, there is an abundance of pumpkin, etc. Where I live the leaves are barely changing and the breezy hasn’t cooled down yet but nonetheless it’s been a great month and I’m sad to see it go. This month I’ve gotten to dress up in costume once (as the eleventh doctor from doctor who) and will be dressing up for Halloween (costume tbd), which is always a great mark in my book. Linking up with Leigh, for what I’m into.

What I’m Reading:
-Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson (5/5). Must read. What a beautiful and haunting look into the life of a lawyer, trying to find justice and freedom for death row inmates.
-Humans of New York: Stories (5/5). There’s something beautiful about these anthologies, a shared humanity. I loved getting to read the accompanying stores of tragedies, triumphs and hope.
-AD 33 (2/5). I’d been looking forward to this release for a year and was sorely disappointed. I was looking for something new and groundbreaking, which I didn’t find in these pages. The story of Christ’s last week was taken straight from the gospel and it felt like it.
-The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet (5/5). I grew to love Lydia Bennet during the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. Mary Kate Wiles performance made me fall in love with this Lydia, gave her depth that the original story can miss. This book was a love letter to the fans who wanted closure to Lydia’s story and it was perfect.
-Out of Sorts (5/5). I’m going to be writing about this more soon but this book is one that found a home in my heart. For anyone who feels they don’t feel they fit in the church, this book is for you.
-For the Love (4/5). I didn’t love everything about this book but I love the way Jen invites us all to use our talents, not to minimize them to fit.
-Something Must Be Done about Prince Edward County (5/5). Documenting the county school shutdown immediately after the Supreme Court’s integration ruling and the effect through the years. Definitely recommend this one.
-Furiously Happy (4/5). I wish I had Jenny’s humor. The way she has me laughing about the things in her life made me feel so much lighter.

I read 13 books this month bringing my total books read to 108. Yep, I crossed my final goal for the year of 100 books read and I’m so happy about it! Keep up with my progress or my reviews over on goodreads.

What I’m Listening to:
-Hamilton. On repeat. I wasn’t sure it would live up to the hype (thanks hipster tendencies) but it did. A historical musical, told through rap. I’m officially obsessed and I don’t care.
-Hello by Adele. Thank you, Adele for coming back and bringing your top notch words into our lives. I’m looking forward to your new album.
-Confident by Demi Lavato. Girl power anthem commence.

What Else I’m Into:
-That Star Wars trailer. :inlove: I watched, I’ve cried. I’ve gone on incoherent speeches about Leia and Han and REY and Finn.
-Definitely bought my premiere tickets already and am in the process of planning my Rey costume.
-The opportunity to dress up twice in one month, both times for work.
-Getting to introduce one of my best friends to Magic Kingdom. We went on the perfect day, there wasn’t a wait time above 45 minutes (which is practically unheard of). Thanks to OUAT, we went to meet Merida and I love her so much. We also met Gaston and he is everything. She very much enjoyed her introduction to the parks, but we definitely collapsed in exhaustion that night.
-We also went to Universal Studios, where we both got to experience Wizarding World for the first time. I miss it already. So much. Take me back and give me butterbeer please. Diagon Alley was fantastic. I loved all the shops, the food, the atmosphere, the puppet show (and did I mention the butterbeer?) I’m so glad I got to experience it for the first time with such a good friend too. Made it even better.

Instagram of the month:
Star Wars mickey ears. I’m still debating whether I should pick up those R2D2 ears, they’re too cute.
https://instagram.com/p/8ZQuDyRnJE/

Favorite picture with one of my favorite people. πŸ’œ

A post shared by Megan (@girlwithasong) on

Here be Dragons!

A post shared by Megan (@girlwithasong) on

That’s all for this month. Don’t forget to hop over to Leigh’s blog and check out more of the What I’m Into participants. Coming up next month, I have a couple posts inspired by Sarah Bessey’s new release Out of Sorts. It’s real good.

8 thoughts on “What I’m Into – October

    • I hope you enjoy both books. Just Mercy was such an educational read for me. One of the best books I’ve read this year. Furiously Happy will be a great follow up for that. Thanks for your comment! ❀

  1. Just Mercy is such an incredible book! I heard about Something Must Be Done About Prince Edward County somewhere but it hadn’t made it’s way onto my To Read list- problem rectified. Congrats on beating your goal of reading 100 books this year!

  2. I’m so looking forward to Out of Sorts! I have it preordered on Amazon. And yeah, Hamilton has taken over my life, haha. So amazing! I shouldn’t even care because I’m Canadian and thus not at all emotionally invested in the American Revolution, but it won me over. My husband and I are going to NYC to see it in January as our Christmas gift to each other.

  3. Oh yes, Hamilton. My husband sort of just smiles at me as I continuously talk about how amazing it is and how I read this article and this one meme that was so hilarious. Ah well, we Hamilton fans understand each other. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

